There is a place called paradise…

dsc_2420
I know I only tend to write currently at time when my heart soars.  Motherhood is consuming and it has, at times, consumed me.. My heart and life filled to the brim but my soul left feeling deeply neglected. Cast aside… Put on hold…

I know that this will evolve as my little one grows. For now, he needs his mamma. And his mamma cannot get enough of him…. You only have them small for such a short time…

Except, for the days when I can get enough of him.  The days that drain.  The days that I struggle. The days that feel like forever…. The days where I feel it’s the hardest job I’ve ever done.

It’s fluid… Just like life… Motherhood is a funny thing. It is so filled with intensity. Things don’t happen by halves. It is consuming and it’s always either on.. or off.

And in my experience, it’s so rarely off…

Don’t get me wrong. I love being the mother of my son. I cannot tell you of the love.

I have never experienced such love in any other moment in my life. The nurturing. The giving. The honesty. The laughs. The cuddles. They are all so so intense.

So big. So, so big..

For that I am time rich..  But for me, I am time poor.

Motherhood is unique to every single soul and every mother. Some thrive. Some falter. All will find a time where they need nourishment and support.

For everything there is a time.

As I write, I am sitting in a treehouse on the south east coast of Sri Lanka. For the first time since my motherhood journey began, I am reconnecting fully back in with myself. Replenishing my soul so it can continue to thrive and to give.

I am with five beautiful women.

Five strangers….

Five complete strangers….

Five different women, five different ages, with five different life journeys, and five different needs. Time has placed us together in this space.

In this journey…

Call it coincidence. Call it fate. But we are all here.

Now.

Nurturing each other. Supporting each other.

Laughing, learning, living, embracing. Our hearts are wide open. Our souls are filling again.

We are on what is called a “balance break.” A restoration of ourselves. A nurturing of ourselves. A checking in. A “retreat” if you like, based entirely on us.

And yes, it’s utterly amazing!!

If you haven’t escaped before, why not jump off and try it?! Find one that suits you. Nurtures you. Your life will only be richer for it, your heart open and your soul enriched. You might just find the way to fly higher than you ever imagined…

I chose Paper Tiger Wellness for my soul balance break.

 
ECOTIP – travel in Asia, it is nearly impossible to avoid your plastic usage. For starters, you can’t drink the water so every drop of drinking water comes out of a plastic bottle. Now that we have such fabulous recycling programs in place in Australia, I’m squashing all my plastic bottles, which totalled only three as I’m refilling where possible, with the intent to bring home in my luggage and recycling in Australia is I can guarantee they won’t end up on a beach. I’m doing the same with my soft plastic packaging. They’ll be headed for the RedCycle bin at my local Coles supermarket.

If you’re interested in finding out more about providing safe drinking water without waste to areas of the world that need it most, check out http://www.wavesforwater.org/about/story and become a courier on your next trip.

 

Get out there.  The world awaits you.  Your soul dreams to fly.

xx

Leave a Reply

