Is the Vitamix all it’s cracked up to be?

Well my beloved Breville glass blender whirred it’s last spin last week which left me with a MAJOR dilemma!  I have smoothies EVERY morning….. Without fail!  They are my nutrient-packed start to the day!

blend

Now, I could’ve gone out and bought any blender… Instantaneously!  But, oh no… I researched and researched.  I am not a fan of our disposable society.  I cannot buy another blender only to have it end up as landfill in a years time.  I am buying for life!

smoothie

So, there’s the Vitamix that came in at number one.  A full powered mega machine that creates smoothies, ice cream, soups and even mills your own grains, coffee and nuts.  Sounds pretty impressive hey!  There’s also a Froothie and Optiblend that are quite similar and get rave reviews.  But for me, aside from the cost, the one main turnoff is the plastic jug.  I know they say that this plastic is safe……. For now.  After having a massive cleanout of plastic from my kitchen last year due to finding out that toxic chemicals in plastic may have contributed to my micro adenoma, I was not about to bring another new plastic item into my kitchen!!!

So alas began my search into high-powered glass jugged blenders.  Here are the ones that I found.  Sadly there aren’t many…

  • Oster 4093Beehive
  • KitchenAid 5 speed
  • Waring Pro Mega mix, Waring Beverage Blend and Waring NuBlend ( comes with a plastic jug but a stainless steel one can be purchased separately)
  • Magimix le Blender

They all vary in price, wattage and design.  Ultimately my choice came down to what best suited my use.  I eventually chose the Magimix le Blender.  A lovely glass jugged machine with simple buttons, an amazing 1200 wattage, quiet operation, the ability to make soups, ice cream and mill grains and nuts (YES! Like a Vitamix!) and although it comes with a three year warranty, the knowledge that Magimix are made to last.

4

I’m in love with it so far.  Let’s hope I’ll still be raving about it in ten years time!

As for my beloved Breville, it’s not heading to landfill.  It’s off to be recycled.

xx

2 thoughts on “Is the Vitamix all it’s cracked up to be?

  1. Found your blog, great. We are like minded people, looking to buy a blender – keen on the Magimix. Can you tell us what other things you are able to do besides smoothies with this blender. Can it handle a smoothie with soaked nuts and chia seeds and cut up frozen banana, i.e. a thick smoothie? Is there anything you found that it can’t do, that you were hoping it would?
    Peter.

    • Hi Peter. I still love my blender!! I haven’t tried soaked nuts but I use frozen banana and chia seeds everyday! The seeds aren’t totally ground but they’re not bitzy either. The blender has a smoothie setting, a soup setting, an ice cream setting (frozen ingredients), and ice setting There is also a mill attachment with one model that mulls grains and nuts, as well as the usual 1-5 setting and pulse. My husband cheats with his soup and blends the raw ingredients before then heating on stove. This includes potato and carrot! They are THE smoothest soups!! I thoroughly recommend it!! Good luck x

Leave a Reply

