My liver, my home and my life

1336443251611845When I started on my journey to detoxification, I didn’t really know what I was looking for.  I thought I was clean.  I thought I was healthy.  I thought I felt good.  I thought I had it all going on well…..   Little did I know!  My wake up call was a morning of EXCRUTIATING abdominal pain that found me in hospital.  Unfortunately after 6 hours it disappeared on it’s own, as quickly as it began.  Therefore I never received a proper diagnosis.  It was suspected that it was either gallstones or a burst ovarian cyst.  Neither sounded good.

Never wanting to experience that agony again, I decided right then and there that the health of my gallbladder and liver were of strong importance!  Naturopaths, Homeopaths, Iridologists, Native American Medicine Men….(yes!  So true!)  have always told me that my liver was sluggish.  Funny I thought cos I am not a drinker.  I do not smoke.  I live simply and healthily.  It was only now that I took their advice!

“Fair, fat and forty”  was how my mother always described the victims of gallstones.  I have learned now that there are actually 5fs.  Fair, fat, female, fertile and over forty.  One, yes I am fair.  Two, weighing in at 48kgs I would never consider myself fat!  I am a yoga loving, pilates freak with a six pack!  And as for over forty……. Well, I’m not there YET!!!!  So how?

I started on a cleanse of fats and sugars from my diet.  I increased my fibre intake and started taking supplements like chia seeds, mesquite powder, maca powder, bee pollen and increased my LSA intake.  I replaced chocolate with homemade cacao balls made with agave syrup.  I added EVERYTHING coconut into my diet.  I cut out red meat for a period.  Being gluten free, I didn’t eat wheat but I did have rye bread for breakfast.  This I cut out.  I replaced my breakfast with my green smoothie.  My lunch was yoghurt and oats with the above supplements.  Dinner was fish or chicken and LOADS of fresh and raw veges and salads.  My treats were my cacao balls, dates and sesame seeds.  My once a day medicine, 2 tablets of “Fusion Liver Tonic” and I teaspoon of apple cider vinegar in a glass of water.

I also cleansed my home of the small amount of toxins that existed.  I greened my bathroom cabinet.  I even tried a old chinese gallbladder cleanse.

Things happened slowly but it’s amazing looking back four months now.  I do not crave sugar.  My energy levels are more consistent.  I don’t crave fatty foods when I’m tired.  The biggest surprise for me is that my body has ridded itself of cellulite!  What?!!  Yeah I agree….I never thought it was possible!   And the best thing…. my pain has not returned!

I have a few people and companies to thank for my new found health.  One is “Loving Earth”, a fabulous Australian company putting our health and the health of the planet at the forefront of their business.  They have a fabulous online recipe log of YUMMY, healthy meals!  Another is a fabulous Aussie woman called Irene who runs “Nourished Life.”  Initially writing a blog about detoxifying her cosmetics, she has grown into a one stop online advice and store designed to make toxic free products easy, delivered to your door and reasonably priced.  She has taught me that my so called “healthy” home was actually still full of toxic chemicals that were greenwashed!!  For that, thank you Irene!

So I told you that in my next blog I would tell you more about beautiful organic and toxic free body creams and hair care, toxic free make-up brands and removers, organic self tanners and some fabulous online web sites that only sell guaranteed toxic free products.  I think they deserve a blog of their own…..

Stay tuned! ♥

xx

Leave a Reply

