My Choc Mint ice cream… dairy and sugar free….and delicious!

Okay…..As promised here’s my recipe for a dairy and sugar free Choc Mint Ice Cream that is really yummy!  It has been stinking hot here again in Perth today, so I thought I’d surprise my hubby with a yummy thai chicken salad followed by Choc Mint ice cream for dessert.  What a nice cooling way to end the day……P1010430 Okay…Okay…I’ll get straight to the ice cream!  Just had to set the scene, that’s all!!

Choc Mint ice cream

  • 1 cup of coconut cream
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 hefty bunch of mint, spearmint, peppermint, choc mint…..Whatever you have in your garden
  • 1 handful of spinach leaves (minus the stalks)
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • A few drops of peppermint oil to taste!
  • 200gm of dark mint chocolate

I wizzed all the ingredients except for the chocolate together in a blender until totally combined.  You want all the leaves to have disappeared into your mixture.  Then place the mix into your ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions. P1010428 I then crushed the chocolate into chips in my food processor and added to the ice cream mix when it was really cold but not yet frozen.  Any earlier and the choc chips will melt. 

Then, unfortunately, you need to sit back and wait for the rest to happen….

You could also make this recipe by blending, then freezing till nearly frozen, blend again, freeze and continue to mix this way until totally creamy and not icey.  My mix turned out a dirty green colour which I find quite rustic, but for a bright green I can’t think of any other way other than adding green food colouring…. something I would prefer to do without.mint-choc-chip-ice-cream2

And wha….la!!!!!!!!!!!  Done.

PS Hubby LOVED it! So will yours.  The spinach is our little secret!

x

Leave a Reply

