Chocolate

Those that know me also know that my life doesn’t exist without chocolate.  Chocolate is my sin.  Those that know me would be horrified to hear that I have been chocolate free for 3 weeks.  Sugar free for three weeks.  Well, not entirely.  The chocolate free part is true.  The sugar free is processed sugar free.  I have swapped it for agave syrup, for xylitol and for maple syrup.  These products have nowhere near the effect of spiking your GI levels that cane sugar has.

Considering I am not even craving chocolate I don’t know whether I am giving into my sin by making a chocolate torte tonight.  This is no ordinary chocolate torte but, if there is such a thing, a HEALTHY chocolate torte!!

I found a fabulous recipe for a double chocolate torte online, that I have adapted for my own.  Here goes!

Double Chocolate Torte
1 cup 70% dark chocolate in pieces
1/4 cup almond flour
1/4 cup of coconut flour
1/4 cup cacoa powder
1/2 teaspoon himalayan sea salt
3 eggs
1/2 cup agave syrup
1/2 cup rice bran oil
1 tablespoon lavender syrup  (you could also try orange zest or peppermint)

  1. Place ½ cup of the chocolate pieces in a food processor and pulse until the texture of gravel
  2. Pulse in almond and coconut flour, cacao powder and salt and process until well combined, about 10 seconds
  3. Add eggs to food processor and pulse again, then add in agave, oil and lavender syrup
  4. Pulse all ingredients together until smooth
  5. Remove “bowl” from food processor and stir in second ½ cup of chocolate chips using a spoon or spatula
  6. Transfer batter into a well oiled 10 inch springform pan
  7. Bake at 180° for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean
I am waiting for it to come out of the oven but OMG I can’t wait!
xx
Leave a Reply

